top of page
Search
  • noahsmithh

Project 2 Final Product + Artist Statement

Updated: Mar 18, 2023


Here is my soundscape. I unfortunately did not get far in terms of finishing it, but for this artist statement I'll reflect on the first section of the soundscape that I could complete.


The part that I am most proud of is the section that starts right around the 45 second mark. One of the sound bites from the class Drive folder was someone tapping and gradually increasing the rate of the taps. The increasingly fast rhythm made it the perfect sound to use as the building off point of the warp/teleport sequence in the beginning. I added that sound bite over a section of the bus riding sample that was very rattly, in order for the two sounds to complement each other and create a sense of increasing instability. I also messed with the pan and volume levels of each sound to balance sounds out and create a more gradual transition, which was a lot of fun to mess around with (especially the pan) and I think it sounds good with headphones.


I then layered other sounds on top, like snapping sounds from someone cutting lettuce for a salad and other rattly/weird ambience to add more variety and continue to push the crescendo. I layered duplicates of certain sounds to make an echoey sort of effect as well. I ended the whole sequence with a drill sound as the sort of final transition into the next dimension or part of the soundscape, which I think was also a really fitting choice.



If I had more time, in addition to completing the project, I would have experimented more with panning and adding more sounds like voices in order to push the illusion that the listener is on a bus and in a 3d space even more.


The increasingly fast, tapping soundbite that I mentioned earlier also sounded like a train on some rails after I added effects on it, so I would’ve made the next sequence of the soundscape be some kind of train riding through a festival.



8 views0 comments
bottom of page