top of page
Search
  • noahsmithh

Project 2 Brainstorm Blog

Updated: Mar 18, 2023

The initial loose theme that I want to start with for this project is some sort of interdimensional transit that can warp and travel between different dimensions, each with their own unique sort of soundscape. Since I get to campus almost solely by bus, I hear an interesting blend of sounds almost daily whenever I commute: road noise, conversation, rattling, doors opening and closing, chimes and announcements. I thought it would be cool to simulate all of these assorted sounds I hear on the bus and really try to place the listener in that kind of space, while also giving it a sort of fun and trippy twist through experimenting and messing around in Adobe Audition.

I started by creating a list on a sticky note of potential types of sounds that I might want to include in the project to help me as I search through the class bank of sounds. Once I combed through the entirety of the class folder, I had picked out about 90+ sounds that followed my sticky note categories or sounded interesting to include. I found myself gravitating towards a lot of water sounds and rattly sounds, so I hope to use those in the project somewhere. Since 90+ sounds are a lot to sort through when working on the project, I organized them into different folders by category to help me search for specific sounds that I want to use more quickly and efficiently


Now that I have all my sounds, I’m ready to get started. I might start by placing a sort of door noise throughout the 4 minute 33 second range to almost do a rough outline and segment the entire time to see what limits of time I’m working with.


6 views0 comments
bottom of page